New Opportunities in 2016

Welcome back! The start of a new year is always refreshing and provides optimism. My wish is for all students and families to enjoy the challenges and successes that will no doubt be offered in 2016.

In 2015 we came within one point of claiming a third straight Champion School status in the TAS sporting arena. The feeling around the campus at the end of 2015 was one of hunger and reflection about how to put the Redback movement in a position to break clear of St Paul’s School who one and John Paul College who were close on our heels. Cannon Hill Anglican College have been big improvers over the last few years and certainly troubled us in Trimester 3 in giving us our biggest defeat of the year.

Trimester 1 TAS sport coordinators have set the benchmark high already through comprehensive preseason programs held in Term 4 and in the last few weeks. We can only control our preparations for the season and I think we are putting ourselves in a terrific position to start the TAS sporting season in a positive way against Redeemer this week at home.

The debating and sailing seasons will begin shortly. Mrs Georgina Barfoot will be coordinating our involvement in the Queensland Debating Union (QDU). Students interested in debating should email Mrs Barfoot (g.barfoot@ormistoncollege.com.au) or see her in the Business Staffroom.

Mr Michael Farnworth will be coordinating sailing again this year. Mr Farnworth is passionate about sailing and is always on the search for students interested in sailing. It is a unique opportunity to be involved in sailing at school and the programs offered by Mr Farnworth are thorough, enjoyable and well organised.

At Ormiston College there is an expectation for each student to participate in two co-curricular activities. There are plenty of activities offered and the memories and friendships formed from involvement in co-curricular teams, clubs, productions, competitions, committees and toher activities are lifelong.

Term 1 TAS Sport Coordinators

Basketball (girls) – Mr Wayne Jarrett (w.jarrett@ormistoncollege.com.au)
Tennis (girls) – Mrs Kylie Penniket (k.penniket@ormistoncollege.com.au)
Cricket (boys) – Mrs Deborah Ponting (d.ponting@ormistoncollege.com.au)
Volleyball (boys) – Mr Paul Dhu (p.dhu@ormistoncollege.com.au)
Swimming (girls and boys) – Mrs Sandra Middleton (s.middleton@ormistoncollege.com.au)
Debating – Mrs Georgina Barfoot (g.barfoot@ormistoncollege.com.au)
Sailing – Mr Michael Farnworth (m.farnworth@ormistoncollege.com.au)

All the best to the students involved in Round 1 of the Trimester 1 TAS Season against Redeemer this weekend.

I look forward to an exciting year of TAS sport and cultural activities in 2016.

Jack Pincott
Dean of Activities

j.pincott@ormistoncollege.com.au | 3821 8956